WED 04 Aug, 2021

BPF wins 17 seats, UPPL bags 12, BJP gets 9; CM announces new chief

Assam's Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) will witness a coalition-ruled council for the first since its formation in 2003 as NDA has secured majority with the United People's Party Liberal (UPPL) winning 12 seats and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) winning 9 seats out of 40 council seats.

The Bodoland Peoples' Front (BPF) won 17 seats and one each by Congress and Gana Shakti Party (GSP) led by Kokrajhar MP Naba Kumar Sarania.

BJP, UPPL and GSP will form the new council in the Bodoland Territorial Region (BTR). UPPL president Promod Bodo will be the new Chief of BTC. Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal today announced this in presence of all newly elected council members of BJP, UPPL and GSP. All three parties will meet Assam Governor.

Taking to Twitter, Union Home Minister Amit Shah said, "NDA secured a comfortable majority in Assam BTC election. Congratulations to our ally UPPL, CM @sarbanandsonwal, @himantabiswa, @RanjeetkrDass and @BJP4Assam unit.

A crucial meeting between BJP, UPPL and GSP was held in Guwahati on Sunday to discuss the formation of a new council in the Bodoland Territorial Region (BTR) in presence of Assam state BJP president Ranjit Kumar Dass, BJP National General Secretary Dilip Kumar Saikia, Assam Finance Minister Dr Himanta Biswa Sarma, UPPL president Promod Bodo and GSP president Naba Kumar Sarania.

Share it on